The start of making my capsule collection is to find an inspiration related to artworks. That is why I went on a school trip to National Gallery Singapore. I went to see Century of Lights that consist of two exhibitions featuring artworks from 19th century Europe during the post-enlightenment period.

The first exhibition is “Colours of Impressionism: Masterpieces from The Musée d’Orsay.” It tells the evolution of Impressionism through the shift of colours used by the artist in their career. Featuring over 60 masterpieces from renowned artists such as Monet and Renoir, some of the masterpieces catch my interest.

The second exhibitions is “Between Worlds: Raden Saleh & Juan Luna.” It tells the journey of Indonesian painter Raden Saleh and Filipino painter Juan Luna from their emerging time, their time in Europe until they went back to their country. Raden Saleh paints nature and animals with earthy colours that give of dark feelings, while Juan Luna’s paintings portray people especially women and scenes from daily life that express sad and longing feelings. I like Juan Luna’s painting more because the colours and all the women’s painting drawn my eyes to it. From this two exhibitions, let’s see which one will be going my topic for capsule collection.

Until my next post, see ya !

Posted by:bysowangel

Leave a comment